Boys and Girls Clubs of Broward County

Boys and Girls Clubs of Broward County



BGCBC was very grateful for many things this Thanksgiving.  We are especially grateful for our employees and volunteers who have helped make our organization what it is today.  On Thursday, November 16, BGCBC celebrated and recognized 375 years of service among our employees and volunteers at our Annual Awards Dinner.  Several of our part time and full staff who reached specific year awards are also club alumni.  In particular, Markes Thomas, celebrated 30 years of working for the BGCBC.  He grew up attending the Nan Knox club and currently serves as the Director.   Volunteers and board members, Claudette Bonville and Albert Miniaci celebrated 20 years of giving their time and support to our organization and we couldn’t be more appreciative. 

Along with honoring our board and staff, the Annual Awards Dinner is also when the traditional “passing of the gavel” happens for the Board of Directors. Paul Lopez was recognized for his service the past year as our Chairman of the Board and the ceremonial gravel was passed to Wayne Gilmore, who will be Chairman of the Board for the New Year.  “We thank Paul for his wonderful leadership and look forward to Wayne’s vision as we work together to move our mission forward” said Brian Quail, President/CEO.

Staff 5 Year Award: Kimberly Capre, D’Vetria Cunningham, Brittany Davis, Judith Fletcher, Kay Greene, Roberta Murphy, Kimberly Richardson, Lamarr Veal, Christopher Williams

Staff 10 Year Award: Mark David Clifford, Edson Copeland, Tiffany Richardson, Jameel Smith, Toushika Sweeting, Janice Taylor, Marsha Williams

Staff 15 Year Award: Derrick Brown, L’erin Cooper

Staff 20 Year Award: Lagene Pascoe, Leonca Woods

Staff 25 Year Award: Henry Estrada, Brenda Fulmore, Ron Lewis

Staff 30 Year Award: Markes Thomas

Corporate Board 5 Year Awards: Christy Hierholzer, Paul Lopez, Ronnie Oller, Vince Palazzolo, Andrew Wurtele

Corporate Board 10 Year Award: Joseph Bamond, James Robertson

Corporate Board 20 Year Award: Claudette Bonville, Albert Miniaci

Congratulations to all honorees and thank you for your continued service to the Boys & Girls Clubs of Broward County!